2011 brought the end of the first five-year term of office of the President of the IOAA and of the General Secretary of the IOAA, and so elections for these posts were held during the 5th IOAA in Poland. All members of the International Board attending the 5th IOAA were able to vote for the candidates.

The winners of the election were Dr. Chatief Kunjaya, the outgoing secretary, for the post of President, and Dr. Greg Stachowski for the post of General Secretary.

As agreed during the IBM at the 4th IOAA in 2010, the President-elect and Secretary-elect will take over their duties from 1st January 2012, following a handover period with the outgoing President and Secretary.